A BIT OF HISTORY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Casa Luisi was built in 1850 by the Vico family, owner of several buildings of the Cours Napoleon in Ajaccio. As becoming its principal residence, it took the name of “Hôtel Vico”.

 

In the year 1908, Count Lefèvre des Noëttes-Vico, a young officer, ceded the prestigious mansion to Jules-François Luisi who returned from the Americas where he had been one of the main builders of the port of Manaus. The latter offered it to Marie Casanelli d'Istria, niece of a great Corsican bishop, who received it as a wedding present. They had their apartments molded by Dager, a fashionable Parisian decorator who had just finished renovating the Palais du Luxembourg in Paris. They lived there very much in love the rest of their lives. 

Today, La Casa Luisi is still the “home port” of their grandchildren. With their adventurous spirit, they travel the world from Corsica to Bangkok, from Saigon to the banks of the Narmada, but they always get back. It was co-baptized ANAND BHAWAN, the House of Joy, by the current owner on her return from India. Highly Corsican in its roots, it is also deeply connected to oriental cultures. The mansion has traditionally been open to the outside world. Besides French and English, we speak Italian, Portuguese, Thai-Siamese, Hindi ... and Corsican, of course, depending on the presence of one or the other members of the family. We are all always happy to share the charms of our home with other travelers.

 

Throughout its history, many friends of the family stayed there. The Empire Suite which was meant for them, hosted some prestigious guests such as the princes of Luxembourg and Egypt, the actress Martine Carol, the designer Christian Duc. It was also, and above all, the stopover of the princely family Napoleon at each of its stays in Ajaccio.

 

Recently, the apartment of the Flowers and Birds hosted the famous supermodel and actress Sonya Pim Couling.

Its location in the heart of the city with its secret courtyards and gardens, its nooks and crannies, make ANAND BHAWAN a unique place where various times blend harmoniously. Oasis of greenery from where the street seems far away, the house is undergoing a gentle renovation that does not cause any disturbance to its occupants.

 

* These, under renovation, are not currently visible.

Marie Luisi Casanelli d'Istria

UN PEU D’HISTOIRE

La Casa Luisi fut construite en 1850 par la famille Vico, propriétaire de plusieurs immeubles du cours Napoléon, à Ajaccio. En devenant sa résidence principale, elle prît le nom d’Hôtel Vico.

En l'année 1908, le Comte Lefèvre Des Noëttes-Vico, jeune officier, la cédât à Jules-François Luisi qui revenait des Amériques où il avait été l’un des principaux constructeurs du port de Manaus. Ce dernier l’offrit à Marie Casanelli d’Istria, nièce d’un grand évêque corse, en cadeau de noces. Ils firent aménager leurs appartements par Dager, décorateur parisien en vogue qui venait d’achever la rénovation du Palais du Luxembourg à Paris*. Ils y vécurent, fort amoureux, le reste de leur existence. 

 

Aujourd’hui, la Casa Luisi est toujours le port d’attache de leurs petits-enfants, grands voyageurs, aimant l'aventure, ils parcourent le monde de la Corse à Bangkok, de Saigon aux rives de la Narmada, mais, toujours, ils y reviennent. Elle fût co-baptisée ANAND BHAWAN, la Maison de la Joie, par la propriétaire actuelle à son retour de l’Inde. A la fois profondément corse et mêlée de cultures orientales, le lieu se veut, comme il le fût de tous temps, ouvert au monde. On y parle, outre le français et l’anglais, l’Italien, le portugais, le thai-siamois, l’hindi … et le corse, bien sûr, au gré de la présence de l’un ou l’autre des membres de la famille. Ceux-ci sont heureux de partager les charmes de la demeure avec d'autres voyageurs.

 

Au cours de son histoire, de nombreux amis de leurs parents y séjournèrent. La suite Empire qui, entre-autres, leur était réservée, abritât certains hôtes prestigieux tels les princes du Luxembourg et d’Egypte, l’actrice Martine Carol, le designer Christian Duc. Elle fût aussi, et surtout, l’escale de la famille princière Napoléon à chacun de ses séjours à Ajaccio.

 

Récemment, l'appartement des Fleurs et des Oiseaux reçut en séjour la célèbre Top model et actrice thailandaise Sonya Pim Couling. 

Les jardins connurent maintes fêtes et bals costumés. Le chanteur Tino Rossi y vînt souvent dîner ou simplement y prendre un verre avec ses amis.

Sa situation au cœur même de la cité, ses cours et jardins, ses coins et recoins font d'ANAND BHAWAN un lieu unique où les époques se mêlent harmonieusement. Oasis de verdure d’où la rue semble loin. La demeure est en cours de rénovation douce qui ne cause point de troubles à ses occupants.  

 

*Ceux-ci, en cours de rénovation, ne sont pas visibles actuellement.

Marie Luisi Casanelli d'Istria